Understanding the Age of Consent Laws in Nevada
It is quite common for teens to have sex without knowing the age of consent laws of their state. It is up to the parents to talk to a sexually active teen and educate them about the risks of sexual activity, especially if they’re in the non-consensual sex bracket.
In Nevada, the age of consent is 16 years, which means the Statutory rape laws in Nevada explicitly say that an individual must be at least 16 years of age to be considered legally old enough to consent in the participation of sexual activity. Individuals who are 15 years or younger in Nevada are not considered legally able to consent to sexual activity.
Hence if a teen who is 18 years of age conducts a sexual activity with a teen that is under the age of 16, the older individual is left open to charges of sexual assault and statutory rape.
Nevada has at least ten sexual abuse charges under the law and these are used to prosecute the age of consent and child abuse related crimes in the state. The severity of the penalties depends on the specifics of the act and the age of the participant and victim. Below are the ten penalties that are usually passed to the individual breaking the law.
To protect your teen, make sure to tell them of the risks and educate them about the difference between love and lust, and consensual sex.
Penalties of Sexual Assault in Nevada
- Commission of certain sexual acts in public – This is considered a category D felony which is punishable by imprisonment for at least 1 year and a fine of $5,000.
- Lewdness with a child under 14 years of age – This is a category A felony which is punishable by life in prison with the possibility of parole only after 10 years and a maximum fine of $10,000.
- Sexual Assault – This is a category A felony which is punishable with life imprisonment with a chance of parole after 20 years.
- Sexual conduct between employees of college and students – This is considered a Category C felony which is punishable by a prison term lasting up to 5 years with a maximum fine of $10,000.
- Sexual Conduct between employees of school and volunteers at school – This is considered both category B and C felony punishable with imprisonment for 6 years and a fine of $5,000.
- Statutory sexual seduction – This is considered a category A felony and a gross misdemeanor punishable with a minimum imprisonment of one year and maximum imprisonment of 6 years with a fine of $5,000 or less.
Sexual assault or statutory rape of any kind can be devastating for a teen and their life. A permanent record may hinder their progress in life. It is always a good idea to educate your children about the risks involved in such activities.
If you’re a parent concerned about a sexually active teen, it is also recommended to get in touch with a lawyer to understand the various laws of the age of consent in your state so you can better educate your children.